Kent County, Allegan County, Muskegon County & Ottawa County
- Criminal Law - Assault & Battery -
Assault & Battery
No matter what circumstances surround your assault and battery charges, it is vital you get the assistance of a Kent County, Allegan County, Muskegon County, & Ottawa County assault defense attorney. Since 2006, Siver & Associates, PLLC has helped people throughout Michigan fight for and protect their rights. We treat every client like family, fighting to protect their rights as if the case were our own. You deserve a firm with attorneys who are concerned about your long-term needs, and our track record demonstrates we understand our clients needs.
FREE CONSULTATION THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN ASSAULT & BATTERY CHARGES IN MICHIGANMichigan treats assault and battery charges seriously. Even if a person is not charged with anything else, they are facing the risk of time in jail and expensive fines. Typically, many people associate assault and battery as being the same crime. However, these charges are two different charges to address two different scenarios.
First, assault is an attempt or threat to injure another person. Someone who threatens someone or attempts to injure them and fails will face assault charges. Battery occurs when a person physically harms someone with intentional and nonconsensual physical force. Every battery requires an assault; but not every assault requires a battery.
PENALTIES FOR ASSAULT & BATTERY IN MICHIGANMichigan law charges assault as a misdemeanor crime. While penalties for assault vary based on circumstances and who was assaulted, the maximum penalty for assault is up to 93 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. Assault and battery charges are levied against individuals who cause harm to another person without the use of a weapon. Punishments for this type of assault include up to a year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
Assault is charged as a felony when a person uses a weapon to threaten another person. The use of this weapon must be without the intent to murder or inflict great bodily harm on the victim. This crime is punishable by up to 4 years in prison and fines up to $2,000.
Assault and battery charges vary for domestic charges. When a person has two or more prior domestic assault convictions, they face up to two years in prison, a $5,000 fine, probation for up to 5 years, and the payment of restitution to victims.
ASSAULT & BATTERY CRIMES AGAINST CERTAIN VICTIMSThe state of Michigan protects certain classes of people with stronger penalties if they are the victims of assault and battery: public utility workers; family independence agency employees; pregnant women; medical workers; police officers; and other groups of people. Assault and battery of protected groups is charged as a felony.
WHY YOU NEED A Grand Rapids, Muskegon, Allegan, Holland, Grand Haven, Hudsonville, Norton Shores, Fruit Port, Kent County, Allegan County, Ottawa County, Muskegon County ASSAULT & BATTERY DEFENSE ATTORNEYThose who are facing assault and battery charges need the help of an attorney as soon as possible. If Convicted you could have to pay heavy fines and serve long sentences. A conviction of assault can make it more likely you will be arrested in the future. People with assault and battery charges on their record may have trouble finding a place to live, obtaining work, and accomplishing other basic life tasks.
The American legal system is harsh, especially for people who don’t have lawyers. Some reports indicate those who represent themselves in court only win some types of cases 50 percent of the time, while those with legal representation have a 90 percent success rate. With decades of experience, we am ready to help you face the serious charges of assault or battery. Every person deserves to have their rights protected, and we will explore every aspect of your case to construct an effective defense for your future. FREE CONSULTATION